Fit Chick.

IMG_9841.jpg

Something currently taking over the internet is FITNESS. Never before have I noticed more abs, protein oats, bare biceps, bikini competitions, or people videoing home/gym workouts. SO many people are becoming ‘insta famous for their gym journey Instagram feeds, full of healthy food, workouts and bare bellies.

WHY HAVE WE BECOME SO OBSESSED BY ALL OF THIS?

I am guilty of a insta snap of gorgeous food but I don’t sell myself as a fitness expert or a nutritionist. I’d say in August 2014 my fitness journey began, I started the gym with a friend. David Lloyd Leisure in Cardiff. Here I found a love for all things cardio and kept myself very hidden at the back of the gym to just do some cardio and go, I would often do workout classes with my friend and found that I suddenly found a love for the gym.

Prior to joining the gym I have always loved playing netball and taking part in PE at school i’ve just never overly had a love for keeping fit. I was part of a trampolining club in school and I have such a passion for swimming. I’ve never really been a ‘gym bunny’ now I 100% feel I have a gym addiction and I’m passionate about keeping myself fit and healthy.

I completed my first 10k race last March and was so proud of myself for achieving this, I’m hoping to run in many more 10k races when I return home and I have also signed up for park run which is where you meet up on a Saturday at your local park and complete a 5k.

When I joined the gym I met Joe, my boyfriend, who is a PT. I feel lots of people think

‘your boyfriend is a PT you should be in incredible shape’.

I am SO self critical of my own body and my weight always fluctuates throughout the month. I often now go through phases of really loving workouts and then completely loosing my mojo. When I lived in Brecon I really struggled as the gym at school wasn’t overly great so I felt I lost a lot of progress over the year I was there. I’m now super keen to get back into a routine and get back to a high level of fitness. I’ve written a timetable for when I return home of gym classes I can join in and I’ve asked Joe for some PT sessions too!

Whilst I’m over in Italy I definitely plan to keep fit and healthy, my Godfather has a home gym space with a bike and some weights and I can also take myself out on a run with their dog Inca.

I’m always aware that a healthy balance is key and that diet is 80% of the lifestyle.

EVERYBODY LOVES CHOCOLATE, my guilty pleasure has to be bread and cereal. I could eat cereal every meal. I recently (through Joe) found a diet called the ‘slow carb diet’ and this is something that worked best for me. In 5 weeks I lost 3.5kg and I was so impressed with myself and how I looked. Once I am back in the UK this is definitely what i’m going to restart: with a month of work I am dedicating it to getting myself back fit and healthy.

Joe is really good at keeping me motivated and giving me that push when I need it most.

Are you on a fitness journey? Thinking of joining a gym? How is it going? Let me know!

Ciao Bella’ ❤️

Leave a Reply

